Elections for Derbyshire County Council will take place on Thursday 4th May 2017. These elections are vitally important for local people in Amber Valley and across Derbyshire. It’s a straight choice between Labour and Conservatives for who runs the Council.

Over the last 4 years the Labour-run council have cut the services you value and stashed £233 million in reserves, but found money to waste, including:
– £6 million on publicity;
– £2.3 million on a local priorities scheme, where over 90% of the money went to the benefit of Labour councillors to promote themselves during election year;
– £1 million on an innovation unit that has innovated nothing;
– £500,000 painting their vans orange;
– Tens of thousands of £s taking legal action to stop Labour-run Chesterfield council joining South Yorkshire;
– 12% pay rise for their Cabinet Councillors.
– They’re also planning to stop funding the local buses that this area relies on including the 140s and 150 services.

By voting Conservative, you can make a difference and ensure a better Derbyshire. A Conservative-run council will:
– Retain funding for local buses for the next 4 years;
– Restore the £6 million of funding for road repairs that Labour cut;
– Provide quality social care and care homes and invest £10 million to unblock hospital beds;
– Offer 2000 community action grants to support the youth services and voluntary clubs Labour have neglected;
– Ensure Derbyshire gets full broadband coverage, even in rural areas.

You can find our full manifesto here.

Your Conservative candidates in Amber Valley are as follows:

Alfreton and Somercotes Division – Gareth Gee and Kat Moss (you have 2 votes in this Division)
Alport and Derwent Division – David Taylor
Belper Division – Peter Makin
Duffield and Belper South – Chris Short
Greater Heanor Division – Alex Stevenson
Heanor Central Division – Richard Iliffe
Horsley Division – Kevin Buttery
Ripley East and Codnor Division – Ron Ashton
Ripley West and Heage Division – Trevor Ainsworth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *